August 26, 2008

Homeschool

Posted in Mommy Journal at 11:53 pm by timin525

I started homeschooling the girls this week. They are only pre-k, but I wanted to use this time to test the waters, so to speak. You know, give it a try before I have to start logging hours and making sure the girls are actually learning something. Plus I don’t think we can afford “real” pre-school.

So far I think it is going well. These are the highlights of the week:

Five minutes into it, Aubrey said, “Mommy, I am tired of learning! Are we taking a nap today?”

After telling her that we would be starting pre-school the next morning, Norah said, “Will my teachers be there? Will my friends be there?” in her Norah voice (she is OBSESSED with her teachers – ballet teachers, that is).

Aubrey – “Teacher mommy, are you our teacher?” And then she continued to call me teacher Mommy .

As we were heading to the van, Aubrey asked excitedly – “Is this our school bus?!”

So – I think we are going to have fun. I am excited about all the things I am finding to teach. And I do think the girls are excited about learning new things. We just need to get used to the routine and structure. Thankfully we are only doing Tuesdays and Thursdays. We will do some things, like the calendar and Bible verse everyday, but for now 2 days is all we (I) can handle.

5 Comments »

  1. Amy McMillan said,

    I’m so impressed with your homeschooling!!! You’ll have to let me know what works. So far, I can’t get Lucy to absorb anything. She’s certain that all letters are “H” and the number 4 is “Z”. I’ve got to find some trick. It’s working GREAT with the older two. In fact, I LOVE IT!!!!!

  2. Mary said,

    I am sure it is better than you think. Your girls are smart. Keep up the good work!

  3. Wow – Aubrey’s reaction to school sounds eerily similar to my early reactions, too! 🙂
    It sounds like a fun day, with plenty more ahead!

  4. Kathy said,

    I know you are enjoying the time. I love Sundays with the girls. Aubrey told me last Sunday that she was REALLY WORKING HARD! I had several different activities. I remember when she was tryig to understand that I was Grandma and Sunday School teacher.

    She was much younger so it took a few days.

    I can just hear Norah asking about her “teachers.”

    They seemed to be doing very well this morning.

    Love, Mom

    Love, Mom

  5. Jenny F said,

    You’re going to be great at homeschooling, Mindy! I really admire your ability to “take the bull by the horns” and start working!


Leave a Reply

